The Road Not Taken: My CE Journey

“Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,

And sorry I could not travel both

And be one traveler, long I stood…

 

CambridgeEditors is a family business. Behind the prestige, experience, and excellence is a humble home office nestled in the living room of our pale yellow carriage house. While we represent dozens of editors, our in-house team has never exceeded five or six dedicated individuals. We work hard, flex our creative muscles, and consume copious amounts of snack food. Even as the team evolves over the years, those who have worked here stay a part of our larger family. I illustrate our editing ecosystem with purpose: for my entire life, I’ve grown up in this environment. On paper, I am an only child to a single mother, but in reality, I was raised around a constantly evolving group of incredible minds, working to grow our small business into an established and reputable institution. Over the years, as I lolled on the carpet with my legos or poked at my “smart” devices, I have also been subconsciously absorbing the knowledge around me.

So this is my tribute to the business that nurtured me, that cocooned me in words and shaped me as I grew (with minor edits here and there). It has been a pleasure to give back to CambridgeEditors this summer. Now nearly 20 years old, I bear some of the weight of the business on my shoulders. Whether it is my purpose to eventually take up the helm of this enduring ship that has guided me from birth is still unclear. Alas, I am a millennial, a new age creature that refuses to be locked in by legacy or bridled by expectation. But while my self concept may win out over the forces of parental presumption, I will always credit CambridgeEditors for facilitating my formation into an intellectually curious young man.

 

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.”

– Silas Weiner, Assistant Administrative and Project Director

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

