Exploring; Where should our focus lie?

I have a general statement.

Now, we all know generalizations are dangerous, in that they can grossly overlook important small details, but I’m willing to take that risk, at least right now. Here goes: The constant debate that applies to exploring, be it going round the world or your hometown, is whether or not you focus on your destination, or enjoy the ride.

Would you not agree? In an age when we are so focused on productivity and efficiency, it seems as though people are struggling more and more to simply enjoy the little things, and the process of getting from one place to another, literally or metaphorically, is more and more becoming entirely focused on the outcome.

Why is this?

It could be that since we are capable of doing so much more than we could in the past, what with the aid of technology to take care of the little mundane things, we feel as though we must be even more productive than the machines we rely on?

Maybe. Probably? It seems likely, although there are of course other factors that add into that.

Regardless, this is a debate that has been much on my mind recently, especially considering that it is my last day here in the CambridgeEditors’ office!

Coming in to Cambridge just about every Wednesday and Friday of the past few months has been a treat, and working with Dr. Weiner and elizabeth has been both educational, but also truly inspiring! Collaborating with two very independent, multidimensional women is something I can only hope to continue throughout my life. Needless to say, the bar has been set high.

So, as my metaphorical journey through this semester comes to a close, I am thinking very much about this debate, journey or destination? Perhaps in my case I’m focusing on both, whether it be truly appreciating my experience here, as well as appreciating how it will help me move forward as I eventually (sooner than I’m fully comfortable acknowledging just yet) enter the mythical “workforce” that we are told that we will one day enter. Who knows? I like the idea of keeping my options open, but who doesn’t?

Ursula K. Le Guin said it best: “It is good to have an end to journey toward, but it is the journey that matters in the end.” I am grateful for all that I learned while I was here, and I look forward to emulating the amazing two women who I work with now.

-Hadley Gibson

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

