Five Must-Read Books for Summer

Summer has to be one of my favorite times of year; not only is it warm and sunny, but I finally have a break (somewhat) from school, which means I can tackle my reading list! Back in January, I committed to reading 35 books for the Goodreads 2014 Reading Challenge, and this task has really pushed me to read more than I normally would. Despite that extra push, my “to-read” list has continued to grow. I decided I would list out the top five books that I think will be best for my summer reading list.

1. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn 

Image

This book has been on my reading list since November and on my physical bookshelf since March. I cannot tell you how many people have recommended this book to me and I am so anxious to have some time to start reading. I have read one of Flynn’s other novels, Dark Places, and it was such a great mystery! If you like mystery novels then Gillian Flynn is definitely one author you have to check out! I also purchased her other novel, Sharp Objects, that I hope to tackle sometime soon as well.

2. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

Image

I am pretty sure everyone has this book on their reading list if they haven’t read it already. Once it was placed in Oprah’s Book Club (which, coincidentally had been on a two-year hiatus and was revived with the acceptance of Wild), I figured it was something I had to check out. I am a sucker for a good biography and there is something about Cheryl’s story that caught my attention. Every time I visit a bookstore I pick up a copy of the book and end up putting it back down when something else catches my eye, but this summer I plan on finally finding out what all the hype is about.

3. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

Image

I had to include a young adult novel in here because I have recently been devouring anything YA that comes into my hands! I have read Rowell’s other two novels Fan Girl and Eleanor and Park (fun fact: Rowell has just begun writing the screenplay for Eleanor and Park so keep your eyes open for a potential movie in the future) and I figured her earlier novel would be just as good. What has me so interested in Attachments is the fact that it is not your typical love story; main character Lincoln unintentionally falls in love with a co-worker when he starts reading all her emails and is faced with the decision to confess his true feelings or keep himself hidden. I haven’t been able to find this book in many bookstores so I will have to start my quest to find it so I can officially say I have read all novels written by Rainbow Rowell.

4. Agnes Gray by Anne Bronte

Image

I love anything written by the Bronte’s so it almost goes without saying that this is on my reading list. The plot sounds similar to that of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, so I have a feeling I will really enjoy this novel. I focused on Victorian Literature while I was an undergraduate student, so it will be nice to read a novel without having to analyze every detail for a research paper. Hopefully Anne Bronte can live up to the reputation of her sisters! Perhaps I will have a new favorite Bronte novel, though Wuthering Heights (my favorite book) is going to be tough to beat.

5. About a Boy by Nick Hornby

Image

This book was recommended to me when I finished Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer back in early March. Many of my friends speak highly of this book, and from what I hear it was turned into a movie back in 2002 and is a new television series on NBC. I know very little about this novel, but the relationship between main characters Will and Marcus sounds intriguing and I think I will have to stop by my local bookstore to pick up a copy.

What is on your summer reading list? Have you read any of these books?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

